Water, Earth, Fire, and Books

Despite being an educator and loving pumpkin spice coffee, I just can’t get into fall. I have friends who get positively giddy over freshly sharpened Ticonderogas, a new box of crayons, chai tea concentrate, and scarves, sweaters, and boots. (You know I love you guys and I forgive you for blasting my social media feeds with these unpleasant images when I’m just trying to savor August.) Don’t they know what those items mean?! The end of summer!

I think I’m missing the organizational/schedule-loving/fall-fashion gene that these friends have. My personal preference is the summer routine of: optional breakfast, eat lunch whenever, warm skin=happy heart, library=good-enough-education.

ellie raft

But back-to-school activities commenced, I willingly participated in 18 hours of teacher inservices, and so many cute first-day-of-school pictures popped up on Facebook, so I succumbed.

first day of school

I will step into fall (even though it’s not fall for 21 more days) and look for the good and lovely. But not before I give thanks for summer.

blueberries

This summer was just the best. I already told you about Kenya. The best. 

This summer had so many books. The four of us together read 90 books. So many adventures, new places, belly laughs, and interesting ideas.

Here were our favorites:

Jack: Capital Mysteries: Trapped on the DC Train by Ron Roy; Wayside School is Falling Down by Louis Sachar; The Golden Statue Plot by Geronimo Stilton; Marvin Redpost: A Magic Crystal? by Louis Sachar

Wayside School is Falling Down

Ellie: Ronia the Robber’s Daughter by Astrid Lindgren; Number the Stars by Lois Lowry; Mattimeo by Brian Jacques

Ronia the Robber's Daughter

Jenae: To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee; Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe; For the Love by Jen Hatmaker; Clay, Water, Brick by Jessica Jackley; Matthew, Mark, Luke, John (ESV)

For the Love

John: Selections from the Aubrey-Maturin Series by Patrick O’Brian; Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton

Master and Commander

Favorite Read Aloud: The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

The Penderwicks

This summer was hot for the Pacific Northwest, and we enjoyed so much cool, lovely water.

We visited Mason Lake, where my grandparents live. We swam, paddled, dipped toes, and let the sun warm and tan our skin. We ate big dinners with my family, and tried to distract the kids from my grandpa’s Fox News reports about ISIS and Hillary’s emails. My mom’s cousins took us out on their boat and John got to wakeboard for the first time in 15 years, and Ellie got a personalized lesson from an expert.

Ellie wakeboard john wakeboarding

We read books.

Clay Water Brick

We hiked down the trail to the Washougal River countless times, with friends, family, and by ourselves. We searched for agates, petrified wood, crawdads, and minnows. The kids swam a lot, I swam a little. I mostly read books.

river

Chike and the River

We took a day trip to the beach on a deliciously warm day with little wind. We picnicked, dug in sand, and John and the kids splashed and jumped over waves. I read a book.

beach

Conscience and Courage

We hiked longer distances and more treacherous trails than we ever have before as a family of four (and unabashedly bribed the children with Skittles).

hiking 2During some bits, I made John walk between Jack and me so I wouldn’t have to watch my seven-year-old blithely stumble along narrow, rocky paths hugging cliff-like drop-offs (John is used to me transferring all anxiety producing encounters onto his plate of responsibility). We listened to a book on the long drive home.

The Surgeon's Mate

All that dry, hot weather had consequences, unfortunately. August ended, as all of us in Washington and Oregon know, with record-breakingly huge wildfires. John works for the Forest Service and is trained to set-up and maintain radio and communications equipment for fire teams, so he was out on an Oregon fire for the last half of August. We missed him, but felt so proud of our man who worked 17-hour days, slept in tents, and ate…(I’m not sure what he ate, other than it was in large quantities), working hard to protect homes, buildings, and wild land.

fire campradiowarm springs

John became known as The Guy With Books In His Truck, and gladly loaned out his Patrick O’Brians and Wendell Berrys.

Our Only World

We are now obliged to bid farewell to summer routines, but water, earth, fire, and books (air for the soul, if I may) will linger into fall. Wildfires are still raging, not really caring that school has started and fire-fighting dads need to be around for after-school pickup two days a week. We’ll sneak in a back-packing trip with some friends over Labor Day weekend, hammering pegs into the earth and snaking along trails. September always gives us a few sunny, warm days sure to find us at the river. And teachers tend to be fans of books, so fall bodes well in the reading department.

Tiger Boy

I’ll buck up and start making lunches, writing IEPs, and monitoring homework again. I won’t mourn my fading tan. Just please don’t tell me you want to be cold and wet so you can use your wood stove and wear boots and sweaters again. You’ll have October, November, December, January, February, March, and April for all of that nonsense. Let me ease into fall in my September flip-flops and fair fahrenheits. Then, I’ll be ready to join you in celebrating pumpkin spice coffee, a cozy fire, and of course, a good book.

Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

8 thoughts on “Water, Earth, Fire, and Books

  1. I loved this! Laughed aloud at Grandpa’s TV shows choices which familiarly show up here at our house. I feel like we don’t need to worry about you texting while driving Jenae…it’s reading while driving we need to worry about! Very refreshing. Thanks!

  2. Mary Dryden says:

    Love this!!! but I hate to tell you I LOVE FALL. All the wonders of fall colors, brisk air, pumpkins, Thanksgiving, leaves skittering across roads. Sorry, Jenae! Can you forgive me if I tell you I also love books? ==and that I love you? Grandma M.

  3. Liz Nyokabi Njuguna says:

    This is awesome, love reading your experiences and if it gets annoyingly cold, please take a flight, we are getting into summer here.

  4. Darcy says:

    Beautifully written. I am trying to embrace the upcoming season change with joy and grace. It is nice to know I am not alone in my holding onto summer.

    My goal is to have a summer attitude all Autumn and Winter and Spring.

    • Jenae says:

      Darcy, your attitude is summer, Christmas, and every happy day rolled into one all year long! Thanks for being the kind of person who can see “summer” in every season and situation 🙂

Leave a Reply

